National Indoor Bouldering Award Scheme for juniors from 7 years old

If your child is looking to progress into bouldering then The National Indoor Bouldering Award Scheme is for them.

NIBAS is the only nationally recognised scheme that introduces new climbers to bouldering on indoor walls. The scheme focuses on making young boulders, getting them hooked for life, and giving them the tools to make this happen. Working through skill development, all safety aspects as well as climbing ability, the 5 awarding levels have the perfect progression for all young climbers aged 7 and above. For more details on NIBAS visit the NIBAS scheme’s website

Our courses are run in two age brackets under each level. 7-11 year olds, are called Rock-Its, & 12-17 year olds are known as Hang Time, this means your kids are groups with children of similar age ability making the learning and development experience all the easier, and more importantly more fun!

Did you know we also run NICAS, perfect for kids wanting to explore new heights?!

What’s  the difference?

NIBAS is based in bouldering area, low level climbing, and based to work on technique and  general to advanced climbing movement!

NICAS mainly focuses on high roped climbing focusing on safety and then development into the technical climbing.

Both NICAS and NIBAS are open to climbers of all ages from 7 years up cater for all abilities, as it covers all aspects from the absolute basics to advanced climbing techniques. Reading Climbing Centre is a NICAS & NIBAS Primary Centre

Get your kids into the exciting world of bouldering here...

With short & long term goals, aims & challenges, bouldering really is the perfect sport to get your kids into!

Online Booking is not available right now

Please contact the centre to book your session

01423 815024